Diocesan Offices

Royce Ranniger
Director
712-233-7592
roycer@scdiocese.org

Office of Parish & School Accounting
Julie Mahaney
Director
712-233-7515
juliem@scdiocese.org

Linda Topf
Accounting Assistant
712-233-7593
lindat@scdiocese.org

Jeff Wurth
Staff Accountant
712-233-75519
jeffw@scdiocese.org

Office of Human Resources
Margaret Funetes
Director
712-233-7510
margaretf@scdiocese.org

Michelle Steinbach
Administrative Assistant
712-233-7523
michelles@scdiocese.org

Office of Diocesan Archives and Records

Office of Finance
Diane Donnelly
Director
712-233-7594
dianed@scdiocese.org

Debra Conley
Accounts Payable Coordinator
712-233-7591
debrac@scdiocese.org

Kim Farrell
Finance Assistant
712-233-7565
kimf@scdiocese.org

Marilyn Wellman
Staff Accountant
712-233-7518
marilynw@scdiocese.org

Catholic Mutual Insurance
Mark Wetz
Risk Manager
712-233-7559
mwetz@catholicmutual.org

Office of Communications and Development
Susan O’Brien
Director of Development and Communications
712-233-7513
susano@scdiocese.org

Allison Liska
Director of Planned Giving & Annual Gifts
712-233-7556
allisonl@scdiocese.org

Lexa Hawkins
Development and Research Coordinator
712-233-7524
lexah@scdiocese.org

Chancery Street Address
1821 Jackson Street
Sioux City, IA
51105-1005

Chancery Mailing Address
PO Box 3379
Sioux City, IA
51102-3379

Main Line
712-255-7933

Fax
712-233-7598

Bishop
Most Reverend R. Walker Nickless
Renee DeMay – Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7555

Vicar General and Moderator of the Curia
Rev. Brad Pelzel – 712-233-7551
Rev. Msgr. Kevin McCoy
Grace Zavala – Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7551

Chancellor
Deacon David Lopez, Ph.D. – 712-233-7512

Vice Chancellor
Rev. Brent Lingle – 712-233-7534

Bishop Emeritus
Most Reverned Lawrence D. Soens

Welcome to the Office of the Archives and Records at the Catholic Diocese of Sioux City. The mission of the Archives Office is to collect, organize, preserve and make available for research the historical and vital records of the Diocese of Sioux City, as well as materials which reflect the work of the Church within the Diocese, thereby promoting an understanding of the history and heritage of the Catholic Church in northwest Iowa.

 

Sacramental Records
Individuals in need of a copy of their own sacramental records should first contact the parish where the sacrament took place. Please contact the parish directly. For example, sacramental records (baptism, confirmation, marriage, and burial) are restricted from public viewing until 100 years after the date of the sacrament.   Click here for a complete listing of parishes.

School Records
The Office of Archives and Records does not maintain any school transcripts.  Please contact the school directly.  A complete listing of our schools can be found by clicking here.

Archive Access
Questions on access policies to individual collections or series may be directed to the archivist. Access is granted to researchers as a contractual matter in which use of the material is subject to the rules of the Archives.

Research request forms and our access/information policy can be found below. Please keep in mind that time limitations may prevent the archivist from accepting large requests for information.

Archivist

Cecilia Lopez
Cecilial@scdiocese.org
712-233-7525

 

Request for Research Information

Main Office
1601 Military Road
Sioux City, IA
51103-1715

Phone
(712) 252-4547

Fax
(712) 252-3785

Website
www.cathchar.com

Amy Bloch, L.I.S.W., C.A.D.C. – Executive Director
Julie Elbert, L.I.S.W – Director of Clinical Services

Branch Offices
Fort Dodge
1200 3rd Ave NW, Ste. 1
Fort Dodge, IA
50501-2207

Phone
515-576-4156

Fax
515-576-6998

Glenna Nockels, L.I.S.W – Clinical Supervisor

Carroll
409 1/2 W 7th Street
Carroll, IA
51401-2320

Phone
712-792-9597

Doreen Loeffelholz, L.I.S.W. – Clinical Supervisor

Storm Lake
(Open Wednesdays Only)
1709 Richland Street
Storm Lake, IA
50588-3503
Phone
(call Carroll office)

Spencer Office
1111 4th Ave W
Spencer, IA
51301-3514

Phone
712-580-7320

Sandy Pelzer, L.I.S.W. – Clinical Supervisor

Algona
109 W State St
Algona, IA
50511

Phone
515-295-8840
Julianne Klesel, L.I.S.W. – Therapist

Street Address
1825 Jackson Street
Sioux City, IA
51105-1055

Mailing Address
PO Box 5079
Sioux City, IA
51102-5079

Phone
(712) 255-2550

Fax
(712) 255-4901
1-800-352-9035

Website
http://www.catholicglobe.org/

Staff
Most Reverend R. Walker Nickless – Publisher
Joanne Fox – Editor – 712-233-7573 – joannef@scdiocese.org
Renee Webb – Senior Reporter – 712-233-7573 – reneew@scdiocese.org
Katie Borkowski – Reporter – 712-233-7571 – katiel@scdiocese.org
Jacob Newton- Advertising Representative – 712-233-7572 – jacobn@scdiocese.org
Julie Pravecek – Receptionist – 712-233-7570 – juliep@scdiocese.org
Lexa Hawkins – Circulation – 712-233-7524 – lexah@scdiocese.org

Office of Vocations & Seminarians
Father Shane Deman – Vocation Director – 712-233-7522
Michelle Steinbach – Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7523

Diaconate Formation
Dcn. David Lopez, Ph.D. Director – 712-233-7512
Dcn. Tim Murphy Co-Director – 712-792-0513

Rev. Brent Lingle – Coordinator – 712-233-7534 – brentl@scdiocese.org

Office of New Evangelization, Catechesis & Family Life
Fred Shellabarger – Director of Catechesis and Family Life – 712-233-7532 – freds@scdiocese.org
DarbyYoung– Director of Religious Education and Family Life – 712-233-7561-darbyy@scdiocese.org
Kara Bentz – Asst. Director of Youth and Young Adult Ministry – 712-233-7516 – karab@scdiocese.org
Brianna Roberts- Hispanic Ministry-12-233-7520 – brianar@scdiocese.org
Maureen Timblin- Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7530 – maureent@scdiocese.org

Office of Worship, Episcopal Master of Ceremonies & Special Assistant To The Bishop
Rev. Brent Lingle – Director – 712-233-7534 – brentl@scdiocese.org
Grace Zavala – Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7551 – gracez@scdiocese.org

Coalition for Ministry with Persons Having Disabilities
Rev. Dennis Meinen – Coordinator – 712-258-9120 – meinend@scdiocese.org

Office of Safe Environment
Dan Ellis – Coordinator – 712-233-7517 – dane@scdiocese.org

Office of Catholic Education
Patty Lansink – Superintendent – 712-233-7527
Stacia Thompson – Outreach & Enrollment Coordinator – 712-233-7543 – staciat@scdiocese.org
Dcn. Larry Sitzman – Media Center Coordinator – 712-233-7529 – larrys@scdiocese.org
Dawn Aesoph – Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7527 – dawna@scdiocese.org

Society for the Propagation of the Faith / Holy Childhood Society
Rev. Msgr. R. Mark Duchaine – Co-Director – 712-233-7551 – duchainem@scdiocese.org
Rev. Brent Lingle – Co-Director – 712-233-7534 – brentl@scdiocese.org
Linda Topf – Administrative Assistant – 712-233-7593 – lindat@scdiocese.org

Office of the Tribunal

Street Address
1825 Jackson Street
Sioux City, IA 51105-1055

Mailing Address
PO Box 3379
Sioux City, IA 51102-3379

Phone
(712) 233-7533

Fax
(712) 233-7588

Contact Us
Please feel free to email your questions or concerns to tribunaloffice@scdiocese.org

Judicial Vicar
Rev. Msgr. R. Mark Duchaine, J.C.L.

Adjutant Judicial Vicar
Rev. Michael Erpelding, J.C.L.

Judges
Eugene J. Ulses, J.C.L.; Rev. Msgr. R. Mark Duchaine, J.C.L.; Rev. Michael J. Erpelding, J.C.L.; Rev. Paul-Louis Arts, M.S.; Rev. Jerome P. Cosgrove M.S.; Rev. Msgr. Michael D. Sernett, J.C.D.; Anne Kirby, J.C.L.

Defender of the Bond
Rev. Msgr. Kevin McCoy
712-233-7533

Administrative Assistant / Notary
Terri Niedergeses
712-233-7533

Marriage Nullity Workshops

 Anyone who would like to learn more about the marriage nullity process in the Catholic Church is invited to attend any of the following workshops.  Father Michael Erpelding of the Tribunal of the Diocese of Sioux City will lead these sessions.

If planning to attend, please contact Terri at the Tribunal, 712.233.7533, or terrin@scdiocese.org so that adequate supplies are available the evening of the workshop.  If you reach the Tribunal voicemail, please leave your name, phone number, the session you plan to attend and how many are coming.

Upcoming Workshops

TBD

Tribunal Brochure

Bishop Comments Pt. 1

Bishop Comments Pt. 2